FLASH CUBE LIGHTHOUSE


Whenever I bitch about some minor inconvenience when I am shooting, I am reminded that it was not always this way. Minor inconveniences now were major ones a few years ago. Take the dreaded red-eye as an example. At most a couple of clicks in an editing program and it is gone.

Some wonderful solutions were proposed, but the one that particularly tickled my fancy was the “lighthouse” design.  Back in the days when Flash Cubes were Kodak’s latest and greatest, several models offered an extension column to move the flash away from the lens. I have no idea if it worked as I never used one, but it looked the business.

The example at left, is a Yashica Electro. I’ve seen the device referred to as a “flash stick” but I don’t know what it was really called. To be fair to Yashica, it also offered a conventional small flash unit, the MS-110.

Update: In researching a piece on 110 cameras I am writing, I came across a rather blurry pic of myself with, you guessed it, a “flash stick” equipped camera (which appears to be a GAF 440) up to my eye.  I have no recollection of the occasion whatsoever. And I still don’t know what it was called.

2 responses to “FLASH CUBE LIGHTHOUSE

  1. Hahaha, what a funny little device. I’m so glad we had all these years without modern photoshop tools so marvelous inventors could create strange bits for cameras like the flash stick. Certainly nothing like the modern ‘flash stick’ I use daily. I wish someone would come up with a flash-cube like flash for any one of these retro-inspired mirrorless cameras. It would be hilarious.

  2. I have one and it’s called a Kodak Magicube Extender.

Leave a Reply

