iPAD: RANDOM THOUGHTS


The conflicting views that have been published on the iPAD over the past few days are interesting. It has polarised opinions world wide without most of us even being on the same continent as it, let alone being close to one.

To have my tuppence worth I don’t care that it doesn’t have a phone, a camera or a variety of outputs. I have more cameras than I can use, I have almost as many phones, a PDA and a laptop.  Duplicating any of these is unnecessary.

I don’t want a gadget (read Kindle) that allows me to read text and see illustrations in black and white. I don’t want to read novels or biographies electronically, I have books for that.

What I do want though is something that allows me to look at photographs reproduced in reasonable resolution; study diagrams and schematics in colour; read a magazine or history book in something approaching the way a traditional publisher would present them – perhaps with audio and video embedded.

I want to be able to do all of this while sitting in my favourite armchair by the fire whilst my wife watches a program on television that doesn’t interest me. I don’t want to have to troop downstairs to my office to sit in front of a bloody computer in the cold doing the same thing.

In short I want something like an iPAD. Until I see one in the plastic and metal and fiddle with it I am not sure that the Apple is the right way to go for me, but it is sure pointing in the right direction.

Whether the iPAD succeeds in the market place remains to be seen, but I don’t think that it can be lumped with Lisa, the Cube and Betamax just yet.

Leave a Reply

